• Redevelopment Ready Communities®

    Grand Rapids – a RRC certified community

  • Redevelopment Ready Communities®

    Grayling – a RRC certified community

  • Redevelopment Ready Communities®

    Boyne City - a RRC certified community

  • Redevelopment Ready Communities®

    Ferndale – a RRC certified community

Redevelopment Ready Communities® (RRC)

Certified RRCAre you a community interested in attracting new investors, businesses and residents? Would you like to grow through a strategic community-driven approach to development?

The Redevelopment Ready Communities® (RRC) program is available to communities across the state. It’s a voluntary, no-cost certification program designed to promote effective redevelopment strategies through a set of best practices.

The program measures and then certifies communities that integrate transparency, predictability and efficiency into their daily development practices. The RRC certification is a formal recognition that your community has a vision for the future - and the fundamental practices in place to get there.

To see the success RRC communities are experiencing, check out our most recent Annual Report.

Why become Redevelopment Ready?

To be vibrant and competitive, Michigan communities must be ready for development. This involves planning for new investment and reinvestment, identifying assets and opportunities, and focusing limited resources. Certified Redevelopment Ready Communities® attract and retain businesses, offer superior customer service and have a streamlined development approval process making pertinent information available around-the clock for anyone to view.

Where to begin

The foundation of the program begins with RRC Best Practices (Note: interactive features work best in Internet Explorer). Developed by experts in the public and private sector, these best practices are the standard to achieve certification. They’re also designed to create a predictable and straightforward experience for investors, businesses and residents working within a community. These best practices challenge communities to be flexible while seeking quality development that supports a sense of place. To learn more about RRC best practices, download the Best Practices document.


Interested in becoming redevelopment ready?

The Redevelopment Ready Communities® (RRC) program is open to any community in Michigan—at no cost. Those who will benefit most are communities that either already have an area of concentrated development such as a traditional downtown or commercial corridor or are planning for such development.

Communities wishing to focus specifically on the revitalization of their downtown are encouraged to participate in the Michigan Main Street Program. Michigan Main Street exists to help communities develop main street districts that attract both residents and businesses, promote commercial investment and spur economic growth by helping to educate and organize local stakeholders and partner organizations. Communities can leverage the benefits generated through RRC certification by participating in the Main Street Program to support overall community prosperity. Learn more about Michigan Main Street.

For more information about the RRC program and/or Michigan Main Street Program, please contact your CATeam Specialist.


How to become redevelopment ready

The Redevelopment Communities® (RRC) process consists of three steps: Engagement, Evaluation and Certification. Learn more about each step below. For more detailed, step-by-step process information, download our RRC Process Document.

RRC Process - Simplified

1 - Engagement

Formal engagement consists of three steps:

Attend Best Practices Trainings—A community must complete training on all 6 best practices. We offer in-person, 2-day trainings across the state: Day 1 includes practices 1/2/3 and Day 2 covers 4/5/6. To learn about upcoming trainings, visit our RRC trainings page or check out the left side bar.  Don't have time to attend an in-person session? Check out our online learning option.

Complete a Self-Evaluation—Using the information from best practices training, a community must complete a self-evaluation. This is a tool used to assess how a community’s current planning, zoning and development documents, policies and procedures measure up to RRC Best Practices. This must be done prior to receiving a formal evaluation by a RRC planner. Communities are not required or expected to have all of the best practices criteria met at the time of initial engagement.

Pass a Resolution of Intent—The community’s governing body must pass a resolution of intent outlining the value the community sees in engaging in the process.

For guidance throughout this process, you will be assigned to a Community Assistance Team (CATeam) Specialist. All completed documents should be provided directly to them.

2 - Evaluation

After formal engagement, communities will be placed in the RRC pipeline. While awaiting formal evaluation, communities should begin to update the plans, policies and procedures identified in their self-evaluation that do not meet best practices criteria. The formal evaluation process is conducted by the RRC team through stakeholder interviews, meeting observations and data analysis.

3 - Certification

To become a certified Redevelopment Ready Community, your community must demonstrate that all RRC Best Practices criteria are being met. The RRC certification is a formal recognition that a community has a vision for the future and the fundamental practices in place to get there. Once certified, communities have access to additional technical assistance and opportunities to showcase their community to potential developers. A community is expected to be making progress toward certification on a regular basis in order to remain in good standing, but ultimately a community can work toward certification at its own pace. 



Looking for guidance in the RRC process?

We’ve created guides and documents to serve as a resource for communities like yours that are working toward RRC certification.  You can find these and more on the Resources page.

Contact Information

Looking for more information on Redevelopment Ready Communities®?

General inquiries
Please email RRC@michigan.org regarding general questions. You may also contact your Community Assistance Team (CATeam) Specialist

Region-specific questions & currently engaged communities: 
Please contact your regional representative:

       Regions 1, 6, Detroit
       Christopher Germain, AICP

Regions 2, 3, 4 (Kent, Muskegon & Ottawa)
Pablo Majano

       Regions 4 (except Kent, Muskegon & Ottawa), 8, Detroit
       Karen Wieber, AICP

Regions 5, 7 & 10 (Oakland County)
Elizabeth King

Regions 9, 10 (Macomb & Wayne Counties)
Brett Hanlon, AICP

The RRC team receives support and leadership from our director Michelle Parkkonen, AICP.  Feel free to send an email or call (517.599.8796) and let her know how your RRC planner is doing!