

PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX RELIEF **IN DISTRESSED COMMUNITIES (PA 328)**

Public Act 328 of 1998 (PA 328) allows distressed communities, county seats and certain border county communities to abate personal property taxes on new investments made by eligible businesses.

ELIGIBILITY AND PROCESS

Eligible location sites include cities, villages and townships that contain distressed areas, as defined under the Michigan State Housing Development Authority Act, and all county seats, as defined under the Neighborhood Enterprise Zone Act. Eligible cities, villages, townships and county seats are listed on the following page.

Eligible businesses that locate in a border county and receive approval from the Michigan State Treasurer and president of the Michigan Strategic Fund may also receive this incentive. Berrien, Branch, Cass, Chippewa, Dickinson, Gogebic, Hillsdale, Iron, Lenawee, Menominee, Monroe, St. Clair, St. Joseph and Wayne are eligible border counties. The business must locate in a local governmental unit that is served by at least four of the following services: water, sewer, police, fire, trash or recycling.

Eligible projects include manufacturing, mining, research and development, wholesale trade and office operations. Retail businesses and casinos are not eligible.

Businesses may apply for the abatement through their local taxing unit if located in an eligible community. Locally approved applications are filed with the State Tax Commission (STC), which must approve or deny the local resolution within 60 days. The State Treasurer, with the written consent of the Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC), is required to provide advice to the STC as to whether the exemption is necessary to reduce unemployment, promote economic growth, and increase capital investment.

New personal property is defined as property not previously subject to property taxes in any other jurisdiction in this state. This includes personal property already in Michigan, but exempt for another reason (e.g., property previously owned by a local unit of government). To determine if certain property is considered new, please contact the Department of Treasury at 517.373.0675

TERMS OF ABATEMENT

Abatements under PA 328 reduce property taxes by the full millage rate, including state and local levies. The eligible local units may, by resolution, exempt new personal property in any of the following areas: an industrial development district (PA 198 of 1974), a Renaissance Zone, an enterprise zone, a brownfield redevelopment zone, an empowerment zone, a tax increment financing district, a local development financing district, a Next Michigan Development Corporation District or a downtown development district.

The local community and the business negotiate the length of abatement for the new personal property tax. The law does not specify a maximum or minimum number of years.

EXTENSION UNDER PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX REFORM

Personal property exempt under PA 328 and eligible in the future for the Personal Property Tax (PPT) exemption will automatically continue to be exempt under PA 328 until that property may be claimed as exempt from the PPT in the current tax year.

CONTACT

For more information, contact the MEDC customer assistance center at 517.373.9808.

(List of eligible distressed areas and county seats on next page)



ELIGIBLE DISTRESSED COMMUNITIES AND COUNTY SEATS

This list reflects a group of communities (170 EDAs, 129 cities, 26 townships, 15 villages) that qualify for the PA 328 exemption based on Neighborhood Enterprise Zone designation, pursuant to changes to PA 147 of 1992.

CITIES

Adrian Albion Allegan Alma Alpena Ann Arbor **Bad Axe** Bangor Battle Creek **Bay City** Benton Harbor Bessemer Big Rapids **Bronson** Burton Cadillac Caro Carson City Caspian Center Line Charlevoix Charlotte Cheboygan Coldwater Coleman Corunna Crystal Falls Dearborn Dearborn Heights Detroit Manistee Dowagiac Manistique **East Lansing** Marguette Eastpointe Marshall **Ecorse** Mason

Grayling Hamtramck Harbor Beach Harper Woods Harrison Harrisville Hart Hartford Hastings Hazel Park **Highland Park** Hillsdale Holland Houghton Howell Inkster Ionia Ironwood Iron Mountain Iron River Ishpeming Ithaca Jackson Kalamazoo Lake City Lansing Lapeer Lincoln Park Livonia Ludington

Melvindale

Menominee

Mt. Clemens

Mt. Morris

Munising

Muskegon

Mt. Pleasant

Midland

Monroe

Muskegon Heights Niles Norton Shores Norway Oak Park Omer Onaway Owosso Petoskey Pinconning Pontiac Portage Port Huron Reed City River Rouge Rogers City Saginaw Sandusky Sault Ste. Marie Southfield St. Ignace St. Johns St. Joseph St. Louis Standish Stanton Sturgis Tawas City **Taylor** Three Rivers Traverse City Trenton Vassar Wakefield

Warren

Wayne

West Branch

White Cloud

Wyandotte

Wyoming

Ypsilanti

TOWNSHIPS Benton (Berrien) Buena Vista (Saginaw) Calumet (Houghton) Carp Lake (Ontonagon) Carrollton (Saginaw) Champion (Marquette) Columbia (Tuscola) Duncan (Houghton) Elba (Gratiot) Elmwood (Tuscola) Emerson (Gratiot) Genesee (Genesee) Marlette (Sanilac) Minden (Sanilac) Montrose (Genesee) Mt. Morris (Genesee) Oscoda (Iosco) Oliver (Huron) Pulawski (Presque Isle) Redford (Wayne) Royal Oak (Oakland) Sebewaing (Huron) Sheridan (Calhoun) Spaulding (Saginaw) Turner (Arenac) Wisner (Tuscola)

Atlanta Baldwin Bellaire Beulah Cassopolis Centreville **Eagle River** Kalkaska L'Anse Leland Mio Newberry Ontonagon Paw Paw Roscommon

VILLAGES

Escanaba

Ferndale

Gaastra

Gaylord

Gibraltar

Gladwin

Gladstone

Grand Haven

Grand Rapids

Flint