

CORE COMMUNITIES

In June of 2000, the State of Michigan initiated an effort to spur private development in its urban communities and traditional centers of commerce. The incentives, unique to core communities, target critical needs of older communities through new housing development, redevelopment of obsolete facilities and development of contaminated properties.

The core communities designation provides the community with three economic development tools:

Brownfield Redevelopment Incentives

Core communities have the ability to use brownfield tools not only on contaminated property, but blighted and functionally obsolete sites as well. In addition, the tax increment financing component can pay for demolition, site preparation, public infrastructure and lead and asbestos abatement, as well as environmental remediation.

Neighborhood Enterprise Zones

This program provides property tax incentives for new home construction and home rehabilitation. For new home construction, instead of the full millage rate, the new home is taxed at half of the statewide average. For rehabilitation projects, the assessment is frozen at pre-improvement levels. Each of these abatements can be approved for six to 15 years. Land is not abated.

Obsolete Property Rehabilitation Exemption

Available only in core communities, this incentive is designed to assist in the redevelopment of contaminated, blighted and functionally obsolete properties. The goal is to convert these underutilized buildings into vibrant commercial and/or commercial housing opportunities. The incentive offers the community the ability to freeze local property taxes at the predevelopment level for up to 12 years. The developer can also apply to the state treasurer to freeze half of the state education millage for up to six years. Land is not abated.

CONTACT INFORMATION

For more information on core communities and the unique incentives available in those areas, contact the <u>community</u> <u>development manager</u> assigned to your territory or visit <u>www.miplace.org</u>.

QUALIFIED LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS

OBSOLETE PROPERTY REHABILITATION ACT (OPRA) PA 146 OF 2000, AS AMENDED

Section 2(k) of the act gives the qualifications which must be met in order for a local unit to be a qualified local governmental unit. There are separate qualifications for cities, townships and villages.

TOWNSHIPS

Benton Charter Twp. (Berrien County)

Bridgeport Twp.

(Saginaw County)

Buena Vista Charter Twp.

Buella Vista Charter Twp

(Saginaw County)

Genesee Twp.

(Genesee County)

Leoni Twp. (Jackson County)

Mt. Morris Charter Twp.

(Genesee County)

Redford Charter Twp.

(Wayne County)

Royal Oak Charter Twp.

(Oakland County)

VILLAGES

Village of Baldwin (Lake County)

CITIES

Adrian Albion

Allegan Alma Alpena Ann Arbor

Bad Axe Bangor Battle Creek Bay City Benton Harbor

Bessemer Big Rapids Bronson

Buchanan Burton Cadillac

Caro

Carson City Caspian

Center Line Charlevoix

Charlotte Cheboygan Coldwater

Coldwater
Coleman
Corunna
Crystal Falls

Dearborn
Dearborn Heights

Detroit Dowagiac



CITIES continued

Hillsdale

Durand Holland Menominee Saginaw **East Lansing** Houghton Midland St. Ignace Eastpointe Howell Monroe St. Johns Inkster **Ecorse** Montrose St. Joseph Mt. Clemens Escanaba Ionia St. Louis Ferndale Iron Mountain Mt. Morris Sandusky Flint Iron River Mt. Pleasant Sault Ste. Marie Frankfort Ironwood Munising Southfield Gaastra Ishpeming Muskegon Standish Gaylord Ithaca Muskegon Hts. Stanton Gibraltar **Jackson Niles** Sturgis Gladstone Kalamazoo **Norton Shores** Tawas City Gladwin **Taylor** Kingsford Norway Oak Park Three Rivers Grand Haven Lake City **Grand Rapids** Lansing Olivet Trenton Grayling Lapeer Omer Traverse City Hamtramck Lincoln Park Onaway Vassar Wakefield Harbor Beach Livonia Owosso Harper Woods Ludington Petoskey Warren Harrison Madison Heights Pinconning Wayne Harrisville Manistee Pontiac West Branch Port Huron Hart Manistique White Cloud Hartford Portage Whittemore Marine City Hastings Marquette Reading Wyandotte Marshall Wyoming Hazel Park Reed City River Rouge **Ypsilanti** Highland Park Mason

Rogers City

148 TOTAL QUALIFYING COMMUNITIES

Melvindale

Adopted by the State Tax Commission on October 20, 2020.